Monday, March 07, 2016

Before and After

Quite some time back, I ordered two dolls using the Iplehouse Doll Choice, although I like the dolls I received, they were not exactly what I requested. I was wondering if anyone else has had the same experience with the Doll Choice and if you had, would you bother doing it again?

Serca Normal Skin

Peach Special Real Skin Makeup B

I ordered Serca SRS with the Peach Makeup B and this was the result.


Notice the black line where there was none? Fortunately it's not too dark, and I like the rest of the face-up, otherwise I would have sent it back!! I think you all know my feelings about black lines on the mouths of dolls.

Naias Normal Skin Elemental Guardian

I ordered Naias with the face-up as above and made special mention of wanting the teeth to show. This was what I received.


Notice the bottom lip is fuller, also slightly different colour and there are no teeth at all showing. The eyes are quite lovely, but the lips were a bit of a disappointment, even though I preferred the peach colour to pink. Perhaps she will receive a new face up down the track, when I get fed up with the way she looks now.

I think in future, if I don't want a default face-up, I will probably order the doll blank for $230, that's a saving of $105 and almost half way towards an additional doll. I can see why doing it myself is becoming more attractive to me day by day.

21 comments:

  1. Wow, what a difference in what you thought you were ordering compared to what you received. Yes, you might as well just do your own face ups with that cost savings! I think all are stunning dolls, but I would've been disappointed a little if it wasn't exactly the same. Especially the last one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Farrah,
      Yes, I must get cracking on that, I have a few dolls who need face-ups but although it's not really hot today, it's so humid here at present. It's going up well into the high 30's mid week, so I just need to wait a few more weeks. Certainly didn't expect temperatures 35-40c in Autumn.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Hi Jordan!
      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Yes, they are both cute, just not quite what I wanted though. But they will do for now. :)
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  3. I totally get what you mean. I don't mind a little variation from pictures (That's common) however when it's quite a difference then it's not great.

    I had that experience with Little Monica before ^^; I ordered a pinky face-up on my doll and received a black / orange one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Irene,
      None of us expect dolls to be exactly like the ones on the website, but I think we do expect a reasonable facsimile.

      I haven't dealt with Little Monica, but it's good to know just in case. What did you do about the doll?

      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
    2. Yes, that is so true!

      Well, I simply returned the head and got a refund ^^ the next time I will order a blank head from them for sure!

      Delete
  4. I have read of this happening even with the default face ups from Iplehouse. The lipstick being a different colour or not as dark or light as the promo photos etc.

    But given that you ordered using Doll Choice, you'd think they would do what you requested. I'd be disappointed too. Especially on that one that is supposed to be showing teeth and that lip colour is definitely the wrong colour. I'd still mention it to them on their Q&A board. Let them know the request was not fully met.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Alasse,
      I'm glad it's no just me being picky. I would have done at the time, but got really busy and put it on the back burner. It was just that I was downloading copies of everything that I have ordered over the past year from IH that it came to me that I should post about it. You know the saying ~ forwarned is forearmed.

      It also prompted me to not order Ah-Ra with a face-up!
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  5. Such a difference! I dislike the black line between the lips too :(
    Did you contacted Iplehouse? Also, thanks for the info because I wanted to order from their Doll Choice system too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Musume,
      I think if they are going to accentuate the shadow line in the mouth it should be done with a deeper shade of the colour they are using for the lips. After all we don't go round with a big black line through out lips do we?
      Look most of the time their face-ups are quite beautiful, but I guess there's always a risk as to whether you get a good or bad face-up artist working on your doll when you order.
      Good Luck with your Doll Choice.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  6. Hello Sandy,
    While they are beautiful, they are not what you ordered. There is nothing more frustrating then not getting what you ordered. I think many internet shops don't properly update their pictures. That being said, they are very charming and well done.
    Big hug
    Giac

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Giac,
      Frustrating yes, but when all is said and done it can be fixed. :) Oh yes, not just pictures, I find links are the worst of all! I couln't count the number of times I have clicked on a link to find the page has disappeared completely or been replaced by some advertising site!!

      I can live with the dolls the way they are, at least for the time being, they are pretty enough.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  7. I don't like black lines on the lips too :( what a shame

    I've come to the conclusion that even if I like a default face up, I should order my dolls blanks. I spent a lot of money on face up supplies and I need to make use of them and save money too. You are absolutely right, paying for default face ups costs a lot, and for 2 of those you are half way there getting a new doll. Even if you went to a face up artist to get your dolls done, at least you would get exactly what you want.

    In any case, both of your dolls are very pretty

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Alejandra,
      As I've said previously I'm happy to live with them the way they are. When I can no longer, I will change them. :)

      So that makes two of us that need to get busy with face-ups then.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  8. Hi Sandi,
    How different! I'm afraid that sometimes is better to do your own face-ups and saving that money for another thing. I dislike the black line on the mouths of dolls too.
    Greetings ^^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Lily,
      I will probably still order some with faceups, but I won't be going to the extre expense of a Doll Choice.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  9. Line aside, your Serca looks great - but wow, Naias really does not look the the Elemental Guardian version around the mouth at all. That's really too bad.

    I haven't ordered a custom doll from Iple for a few years now - I think they were still calling it CDS rather than doll choice at the time. I was happy with the results then (a JID Boris with a request to tweak one of his default faceups to be closer to the Noctarcana Chase one), but I think sometimes it's just luck - or the mood of the artist!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have always been happy with their face ups until this happened. I think you're right about the luck playing a part.
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete
  10. Serca is lovely and thankfully the black line isn't very visible because I am with you on not liking the black line on mouths, like the doll's been at the liquorice. However it is not what you asked for and that does bug me. The second doll looks completely different, her lips look much more 'kissy' than the original. I haven't ever ordered the special faceups but I have received a doll from them that, had I not checked and checked my order, I'd have thought wasn't my order at all, she was so completely different. When I asked them about it, they just said that the photos are for reference only. I was a bit miffed at the time because I really thought what I'd ordered was what I'd be getting. However my latest order of BID Bordy is just as I expected, but I have to say I was worried until I saw her because I didn't want a repeat performance of my previous order.
    I think it's a shame that after having paid out all that extra money, you're not getting what you specifically asked for, regardless of how cute they both are.
    xx

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Sharon,
      I can live with them, they are not that bad, but I was disappointed. Never the less it's made me a little more cautious though. :)
      Hugs,
      X

      Delete